Depending on the marketplace, there are two methods of removing a product from view:
- The data update method: the product must be resubmitted with a stock quantity of zero to remove the product from the marketplace. The product can therefore be managed as a "virtual product".
- The overwriting method: there is no need to submit a zero quantity to remove the product.
To find out more about the method for removing the product from the particular marketplace that is relevant to you, please visit he dedicated guide to that marketplace, where the process for removing a product will be explained in detail.
1. Removing a product from a marketplace via a "data update"
When removing a previously published product from a marketplace using the data update method, it is mandatory to submit the product’s information with a quantity of zero in the optimised feed.
We therefore recommend that you retain products that you wish to remove from marketplaces in your source feed, associating a stock quantity of 0 to each of these products. You need to retain them for long enough to ensure that the zero quantity is transmitted to the marketplace via the optimised feed; as such, we recommend a period of three to four days after the product is no longer current.
Nevertheless, with “virtual product” management, you can also delete a previously published product from a marketplace by:
- Deleting the product from the source feed (not recommended)
- Setting the product quantity to 0 in the source feed or by using an automatic rule
- Deactivating the product from within Product Management.
You must not use feed segmentation or product deactivation using automatic rules to remove a previously published product from these marketplaces.
2. Removing a product from a marketplace by "overwriting"
When a product is removed from a product using the overwriting method, you can delete the product by: